Lankan Premier League LPL 2020

Lankan Premier League begins on 21 November 2020

After an unsuccessful attempt to kick-start a T20 League last year, the first season of the Lankan Premier League (LPL) will be played in November this year. All the information around LPL live streaming, schedule, squad lists, tickets, predictions and any other news around it can be found below.

The Sri Lankan cricket board, which is undergoing a massive change of its own, will organise this new T20 league that will see former Sri Lankan cricketer Russel Arnold in the role of a director for this competition that begins from 21 November. The LPL final will be played on 13th December 2020. More on the LPL Schedule will be released once the SLC reveals the fixture list.

In an SLC media release, they said:

Sri Lanka Cricket is delighted to announce its aspiration to launch a T20 League with the participation of Sri Lankan and international players.

The only one season of the Sri Lankan Premier League, or SLPL as it was then called, was held in 2012, but just a season later, it had to be shelved because of sponsorship issues. There were attempts made to revive it but none as concerted as this one for the LPL which, one hopes will be a tournament that garners eye-balls from all over the world.

Lanka Premier League Schedule 2020

LPL full schedule dates including day & night match timings are placed below;

Date Day Mattch Time Evening Match Time
Nov-21  Colombo vs Galle 7.30 pm    
Nov-22  Kandy vs Jaffna 3:00 PM Colombo vs Dambulla 7.30pm
Nov-23  Colombo vs Galle 3:00 PM Dambulla vs Jaffna 7.30pm
Nov-25  Galle vs Dambula 3:00 PM Colombo vs Kandy 7.30pm
Nov-26  Kandy vs Jaffna 3:00 PM Dambulla vs Colombo 7.30pm
Nov-28  Jaffna vs Colombo 3:00 PM Kandy vs Galle 7.30pm
Dec-02  Kandy vs Dambulla 3:00 PM Jaffna vs Galle 7.30pm
Dec-03  Dambulla vs Galle 3:00 PM Kandy vs Colombo 7.30pm
Dec-05  Jaffna vs Colombo 3:00 PM Galle vs Kandy 7.30pm
Dec-06  Dambulla vs Jaffna 7.30 pm    
Dec-09  Dambulla vs Kandy 3:00 PM Galle vs Jaffna 7.30pm
Dec-10  Semi-final 1 7.30 pm    
Dec-11  Semi-final 2 7.30 pm    
Dec-13  Final 7.30 pm    
    reserve day December 14    

LPL Squad Team List

Lanka Premier League T20 squads 2020 full team list is placed below;

Colombo Kings Squad: Angelo Mathews, Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis, Manpreet Gony, Manvinder Bisla, Isuru Udana, Dinesh Chandimal, Amila Aponso, Ravinderpal Singh, Ashan Priyanjan, Dushmantha Chameera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Thikshila de Silva, Tharindu Kaushal, Lahiru Udara, Himesh Ramanayake, Kalana Perera, Tharindu Ratnayake, Navod Paranavithana

Dambulla Hawks Squad: Dasun Shanaka, David Miller, Carlos Brathwaite, Samit Patel, Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Kumara, Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Paul Stirling, Lahiru Madushanka, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Perera, Ramesh Mendis, Pulina Tharanga, Ashen Bandara, Dilshan Madushanka, Kavindu Nadeeshan, Sachindu Colombage

Galle Gladiators Squad: Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga, Colin Ingram, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Amir, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Akila Dananjaya, Milinda Siriwardana, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azam Khan, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Mohamed Shiraz, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Chanaka Ruwansiri, Sahan Arachchige, Duvindu Tillakaratne

Jaffna Stallions Squad: Thisara Perera, Dawid Malan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari, Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Binura Fernando, Asif Ali, Minod Bhanuka, Chaturanga de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Charith Asalanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kanagarathinam Kabilraj, T Dinushan, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth

Kandy Tuskers Squad: Kusal Perera, Chris Gayle, Liam Plunkett, Wahab Riaz, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Seekkuge Prasanna, Asela Gunaratne, Naveen-ul-Haq, Kamindu Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Priyamal Perera, Kavishka Anjula, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Samarakoon, Nishan Madushka, Chamikara Edirisinghe, Ishan Jayaratne

When will the LPL be played?

The first season of the LPL will be held between 21st November and 13 December 2020. The opening match will be played on November 21 while the final will be held on December 13. The LPL matches will be held at Kandy, Dambulla & Hambantota.

How many teams will participate in the LPL?

In the first season of the LPL, the Sri Lankan cricket board has announced there will be 5 teams. The names of the LPL teams are Colombo Lions, Dambulla Hawks, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Cobras and Kandy Tuskers. Shahid Afridi will captain Galle Gladiators.

How can I watch the LPL live on TV or online?

More information on this will be released later.

Who all will feature in the LPL?

The SLC hope they can sign up for the big stars from the T20 world including the likes of Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Dwayne Bravo, Rashid Khan, Shahid Afridi, and if they thought bigger, even the Indian cricketers who do not play in any other T20 leagues except the IPL. However, the LPL could clash with the T20 Blast and the CPL which might prune down their star value. This is, obviously, over and above the Sri Lankan cricketers who will be in action.

What will be the LPL Format?

Simple format. Five teams play each other twice on a supposedly home and away basis but the matches won’t be played at too many different grounds. Major grounds like the ones in Colombo could play host to most part of the tournament.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment