IPL New Teams 2016/17 – Pune, Rajkot

Pune, Rajkot are bases for new Indian Premier League franchises

The future of the season nine of Indian Premier League was given a more concrete heading on Tuesday afternoon, as two new teams were included in the tournament.

Following the suspension of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals from the league for two years due to spot fixing by the RM Lodha panel investigation, the two new franchises have been finally decided which will be replacing the above teams.

Pune and Rajkot are the two cities which will be entering the forthcoming Indian Premier League. They will be part of the event for the next two seasons, after which they will have to exit the tournament.

While the former is set to be backed by the Kolkata based business tycoon Sanjiv Goenka’s New Rising, the latter will see the mobile manufacturer Intex as their beneficiary. The is set to be Goenka’s second investment in sports, with the other one being in football as the co-owner of Atletico de Kolkata in Indian Super League.

The teams were bought in a reverse bidding process; the buyers had to quote an amount lower than the base price, with the lowest bid winning the rights to the teams. There were five bidders in total, with the other three being Harsh Goenka of RPG properties, Chettinad Cement and Axis Clinical – all of whom quoted a price higher than the winners.

The squad of these teams will be picked from the names in the CSK and RR, who will be categorized into capped and uncapped players. The two new entrants will have a maximum budget of Rs. 66 crore to build their team. They participated in a players draft and picked the following players;

The two team names might be changed later but for now, they will be called Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants on their brand’s name.

The 2016 IPL Auction will take place on 6th February next year in Bengaluru. The tournament itself begins from April 9, just days after the World T20 which will also be played in India, while the opening ceremony of the tournament will be held in Mumbai on April 8.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment