IPL 2018 Retained Players List

IPL 2018 Player retention – Up to 3 Players, Right to Match 2 Players

ipl team players retainedWhich players should IPL teams retain for 2018? The 2018 Indian Premier League will be played in the months of April and May later this year, but recently we have seen the first big news arrive for the upcoming season. The player retained lists have been released for each of the eight teams taking part, and we have an idea of which players are going to be playing for the teams involved.

Some clubs have decided to just retain one player, while others have retained the full amount of three players to give them a great platform to build on when they head to the auction. With many different strategies being shown so far, the IPL auction which takes place on January 27 and 28 is certainly going to be very interesting.

IPL Auction sold players list 2018 is placed here.

IPL franchises retain the following players

Tean Player Retention List
Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli, Sarfaraz Khan, AB de Villiers
Kolkata Knight Riders Andre Russell, Sunil Narine
Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja
Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah
Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Delhi Daredevils Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris
Rajasthan Royals Steve Smith
Kings XI Punjab Axar Patel


The returning Chennai Super Kings have retained three Indian stars in a bid to give themselves a great platform to work with in their first season back in the IPL. Dhoni, Raina and Jadeja will be great for them and if they can find a top class seam bowler to spearhead their attack, they already look like a team capable of challenging for the title.

Fellow returnees the Rajasthan Royals have retained just one player as they go in a different direction, but that player is Steve Smith, who is one of the best in the world. With Smith in the team they have a fantastic batsman and a great captain to build around.

The Mumbai Indians are now the most successful franchise in IPL history following their victory last season and they have retained the maximum of three players for this season. Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have all been retained to give them another solid start to the 2018 season.

With David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar back for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, they have a fantastic batsman and bowler to work around this season, another couple of additions and they can certainly challenge for the title. David Warner especially has been in tremendous form over the past two seasons for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, leading them to the title in 2016. Him and Bhuvneshwar Kumar could lead the Sunrisers to another title in 2018.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have retained two players for the 2018 season, including their star spin bowler Sunil Narine. He has the ability to win games for them with the ball and with Andre Russell joining him and being capable of hitting the ball very far, they have both a big hitter and a top bowler in their line-up.

The Kings XI Punjab need to change their fortunes this season after a disappointing run recently. To try and do that they have retained just one player, Axar Patel and they will be looking to add a lot of new faces through the auction. They are the one team in need of a massive overhaul. After performing disastrously, consistently, over the last three seasons, they need a side which can perform well

The Delhi Daredevils have retained three players this season, the experienced Chris Morris and two youngsters, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer. They have set out a plan to focus on younger players coming through and Pant and Iyer especially will be expected to contribute big this season as they continue their development.

Lastly the Royal Challengers Bangalore have kept their superstar Virat Kohli, alongside AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan. Those three are all fantastic players, but Kohli in particular is a huge asset and while ever he is with this team, they have a chance of winning the tournament. They can beat anyone on their day and they will want to bounce back after finishing bottom last season.

We have the retained lists from the IPL teams, next up we see the auction taking place at the end of January, and all eyes will be on the signings from there.

IPL Retentions Rules

5 Player retentions in IPL 2018

  • Combination of max 3 retentions / 3 RTM
  • If no retention, upto 3 RTM.

Player retention

  • Max 3 capped Indian players
  • Max 2 uncapped Indian players
  • Max 2 overseas players
833 comments… add one
  • Rahul
    Bhuvaswar kumar

  • My fream team

    V sehwag
    S tendulkar
    V kohli
    M.S dhoni
    Hardik pabdya
    G maxwell
    S naren
    J bumrah
    B kumar
    d sten

  • My favorite team kkr

    My favorite players

    Ab devellers
    R. Jadeja
    MS. Dhoni
    D. Miller
    Mc. Cullum
    J. Kallis
    R. Ronting
    A. Gilchrist
    D. Vettori
    Harbajan singh
    L. Balaji

  • Mumbai

  • Mumbai meri Jaaan….I love Mumbai and Rohit broo

  • (2012) kkr
    (2014) kkr
    (2018) kkr

  • chak de kkr

  • my dream team
    ab de villiers
    virat kohli
    chris gayle
    steve smith
    eoin morgan
    david warner
    mitchell starc
    dale steyn
    n coulter nile

  • I like Virat kohli in RCB

  • My dream team
    B Mccullum
    D kock
    Manan vohra
    Sarfraz khan
    Mandheep Singh
    Pawan negi
    U yadhav
    Y chahal
    Nathan culter Nile

  • My favourite team
    Royal challengers Bangalore.
    In this team, Honor is the Batsman and boller

    Ab de Villiers
    Virat Kohli
    Chris Gayle
    Sarfaraz Khan
    K.l Rahul

  • My favorite team
    Delhi Daredevils

    Cap. Ms. Dhoni
    Wk. Ms Dhoni
    Rohit sharma
    Suresh Raina
    Rishabh pant
    Ravindra jadeja
    Hardik pandya
    Mohammed shami
    B kumar
    R Ashwin
    Kuldeep yadav
    Amit mishra
    Y chahal

  • My favorite is sun risers

    David Warner
    S Dawan
    Manish panday
    Deepak hooda
    Sakib Al hasan
    W saha
    Yusuf patan
    Rasid Khan
    Siddarth kual
    Sandeep Sharma
    Bhuvanaswar kumar

  • My favorite team RCB But I hope it team at believe this year winner so sorryfull from heartily of like Virat kohali

  • A b de villiers
    Chris gale
    Andhre rassel
    David warner
    David miller
    Trend bolt
    Michell starc

  • My favorite team is kkr.. …………
    I love you KKR.. ….

  • KXIP Best team
    K l rahul
    Andru tye
    Melr. Kelr

  • my favorite team is Mumbai indians
    rohit sharma
    k iron pollard
    hardik pandya
    krunal pandya
    jaspreet bumrah

  • My favorite team is CSK..I’m waiting for watch M.S.DHONI in CSK..???

  • My favourite team – bangluru
    My favourite player

    Prithwi saw
    De grandhome

  • My Favorite Team KIXP

    Maxwell (c)
    Chris Lyyn
    H Pandya
    Bavishver Kumar

  • Chennai supper kings

  • My favourite term is mumbai indians
    Rohit sharma captain
    Harthik pandya
    Krunal pandya
    Kiran Pollard
    Michell mecclenagun
    Michell john son
    Ambati rayudu
    Harbajan sing
    Team Southi
    Nithish rana

Leave a Comment