IPL 2017 Player Retention Policy Changes

Changes Proposed in 2017 IPL Player Retention Policy

Here is the list of players released ahead of IPL auction; 

  • Delhi Daredevils: Pawan Negi, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Akhil Herwadkar, Mahipal Lomror, Pawan Suyal, Imran Tahir, Joel Paris
  • Pune Supergiants: Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Murugan Ashwin, Kevin Pieterson, Thisara Perera, RP Singh, Scott Boland, Peter Handscomb, Albie Morkel, George Bailey, Saurabh Tiwary
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: John Hastings, Colin Munro, Morne Morkel, Jason Holder, Brad Hogg, Jaydev Unadkat, R Sathish, Manan Sharma, Shaun Tait
  • Gujarat Lions: Dale Steyn, Paras Dogra, Akshdeep Nath, Eklavya Dwivedi, Umang Sharma, Sarabjit Ladda, Pravin Tambe, Amit Mishra (UP fast bowler)
  • Mumbai Indians: Unmukt Chand, Corey Anderson, Marchant de Lange, Nathu Singh, Kishore Kamath, Akshay Wakhare, Martin Guptill, Jerome Taylor
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Varun Aaron, David Wiese, Vikas Tokas, Abu Nechim, Kane Richardson, Praveen Dubey, Akshay Karnewar, Vikramjeet Malik, Parvez Rasool, Chris Jordan
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Eoin Morgan, Aditya Tare, Karn Sharma, Trent Boult, Ashish Reddy, T Suman
  • Kings XI Punjab: Farhaan Behardien, Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Kyle Abbott

The player retention policy of the IPL could be heading toward a major change, as the governing council is discussing that franchises should not be allowed to retain more than two foreign players and two capped Indian players.

The present decree allows the franchises to retain four capped Indian players, and will be the way for the next season as well. This change in policy is most likely to be implemented from 2017, with the possibility of all the players going under the hammer.

If this regulation is passed, then the two time champions Chennai Super Kings will find themselves in a pickle, considering that they are only team with the ability to retain four Indian players – M.S Dhoni, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina. After the meeting of the governing council on Wednesday, its chairman Rajeev Shukla later addressed the press, saying that after a lot of planning, the GC is of the idea that player retention policy should be changed to two players each – in the Indian as well as foreign camp.

Corresponding to the three-contract which was signed in 2014, all the franchises can retain five players, and obtain the sixth player by matching the highest bid amount at the annual auction.

The governing council has brought up these proposals, owing to the need for a more even spreading of the players. However, due to the absence of experts such as Ravi Shastri and Sourav Ganguly from the meeting, the idea wasn’t discussed in great detail.

At the same time, the proposal of cancelling the Champions League T20 and introducing a mini-IPL was rejected. As told by a member of the GC, the CLT20 is a part of three boards which comprises of associations from Australia and South Africa, and a decision such as this cannot be solely taken by the IPL council alone.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment